Wednesday, December 18, 2013

Book "The Grimm Chronicles" by Isabella Fontaine and Ken Brosky

About the Book: 200 years ago, the Brothers Grimm unleashed their stories upon the world. Literally.
Now the characters of the Grimms' stories walk among us. With every day that passes, they grow more evil. They are the Corrupted, and only a hero can stop them.
For 18-year-old Alice Goodenough, that means taking precious time off from her summer vacation. In addition to volunteering at the local library, Alice must stop the Corrupted who are now actively hunting her down. With the help of her magic pen and her trusty rabbit friend, the world has suddenly gotten a lot more complex. The Corrupted are everywhere, and only Alice can see them for what they truly are.
This book contains the first 3 episodes of the critically acclaimed series:
Episode 1: Prince Charming Must Die!
Alice Goodenough has been chosen to be the new hero, but not before undergoing a test to see if she's worthy. Shaken, confused, Alice discovers that her weapon is a magic fountain pen and her ammunition is her mind: whatever she can draw, she can create. With the help of a rabbit friend, Alice must learn the ways of the hero and discover the truth about her frightening dreams: who is the terrible creature feeding on its victims at night?
Episode 2: Happily Never After
Alice's nightmares have begun to grow more real. Terrifying man-eating rats are plaguing the city of Chicago, and it's up to Alice to figure out a way to stop them. But before she can do that, she'll have to face off with an even more dangerous enemy sent to kill her.
An enemy that has killed heroes before ...
Episode 3: Revenge of the Castle Cats
After being rushed to the hospital, Alice Goodenough finds herself trapped in the worst dream imaginable: a horrible monster is hunting in the darkness, searching for its next victim: Alice. It will stop at nothing to kill her.
And that's not the worst of it. All across the city, people are growing more addicted to Castle Cats, a smartphone game created by Grayle Incorporated. And it's not just a game. The more you play, the more it controls you. Soon, Alice learns that the dwarfs who run Grayle Incorporated are watching her everywhere she goes, using human beings to spy on her.
There must be a confrontation. Sam Grayle and his brothers have to be stopped. And Alice is going to need help.
Additional features for this special edition:
- An introduction
- Two special "Lost Diaries"
- A behind-the-scenes interview
- A collection of original Grimms' Fairy Tales
The Grimm Chronicles is intended for Young Adults aged 13 and up. The goal is to provide Young Adult readers with a strong, charismatic young woman in the role of the hero and provide readers with a positive protagonist who uses her brain to overcome obstacles life throws in her way.

About the Authors:
Ken Brosky - He received his MFA in fiction writing from the University of Nebraska-Omaha. He've had over a dozen short stories published.
In addition to regularly contributing literary fiction to various journals and magazines, his current project is a Young Adult series called The Grimm Chronicles. Maybe you've heard of it? No? Really? Well ...
His co-author Isabella Fontaine and he devised 3 "rules" for this Young Adult series. They're important to them.
1. There are no love triangles. They've set this as an explicit rule. Their main character might find love, but she won't be hounded by topless boys and she certainly will never spend her time deciding who to spend the rest of her life with.
2. Their hero, Alice, must use her brain to overcome her obstacles. That doesn't mean she can't kick some butt (she definitely can!), but she does have to rely on her knowledge to win the day.
3. Alice will never commit an act of violence against another human being without there being consequences. Sure, she can do battle with evil monsters ... but violence against human beings has real consequences. Too often our heroes of today cause physical pain to people around them in order to achieve victory. Alice is different. Alice respects nonviolence to solve real-world problems, and only uses violence to rid the world of the evil Corrupted.
Isabella Fontaine - lives a quiet life on a farm in rural Wisconsin. She enjoys reading Grimm’s Fairy Tales and writing on a typewriter, which annoys her cats. This is her first book collection.

My review: This book is quite entertaining for young adults audience. It is very well written and has a heroine as main character. She is full of life and counts on a giant speaking rabbit for her sidekick. Their task is to destroy the Corrupted, characters that came to life from Grimm's Fairy Tales after brothers Grimm draw them using a special magic ink. They live among humankind and are becoming evil by the minute. In order to destroy them, our heroine (Alice) has only one tool, a magic fountain pen that she can use to draw into reality anything that she imagines. The book as a matter of fact is a collection of three episodes. First one is called "Prince Charming Must Die", second one is "Happily Never After" and third one is "Revenge of the Castle Cats". At the end of the book you find fourteen original Grimm's Fairy Tales. It took me around fourteen hours to read the whole book.

I bought this book from and opinion expressed here is my own.

If you read the review, feel free to leave a comment!

No comments:

Post a Comment