Check out our affiliate web site!

Monday, September 3, 2018

Book "Agent Zero" by Jack Mars

About the Book: Kent Steele, 38, a brilliant professor of European History at Columbia University, lives a quiet life in a New York suburb with his two teenage daughters. All that changes when late one night he gets a knock on his door and is abducted by three terrorists—and finds himself flown across the ocean to be interrogated in a basement in Paris.
They are convinced that Kent is the most lethal spy the CIA has ever known.
He is convinced they have the wrong man.
Do they?
With a conspiracy around him, adversaries as smart as he is, and an assassin on his tail, the wild game of cat and mouse leads Kent on a perilous road—one that may lead back to Langley—and to a shocking discovery of his own identity.
AGENT ZERO is an espionage thriller that will keep you turning pages late into the night.

About the Author: Jack Mars is the USA Today bestselling author of the LUKE STONE thriller series, which include the suspense thrillers ANY MEANS NECESSARY (book #1), OATH OF OFFICE (book #2), SITUATION ROOM (book #3), OPPOSE ANY FOE (book #4), PRESIDENT ELECT (book #5), OUR SACRED HONOR (book #6), and HOUSE DIVIDED (book #7). He is also the author of the new FORGING OF LUKE STONE prequel series, which begins with PRIMARY TARGET.
ANY MEANS NECESSARY (book #1), which has over 800 five star reviews, is available as a free download on Amazon!
Jack loves to hear from you, so please feel free to visit www.Jackmarsauthor.com to join the email list, receive a free book, receive free giveaways, connect on Facebook and Twitter, and stay in touch!

My Review: After reading the whole Luke Stone series, I became a huge fan of Jack Mars. His books are so dense, filled with action and the plot is so intelligent that you will not sleep until you are finish with the book. This is the start of a series that promises to be as good as the previous one.
In this book, Professor Reid Lawson teaches at Columbia University, has two daughters (Maya and Sara) and lives a nice life, until his world turns upside down when he is abducted by three terrorists claiming that he is a CIA spy.
The author did a superb job creating a set of characters that are fully developed and very much enjoyable. We cheer for our hero in every turn of the pages. The description of the action scenes transport us into a reality that is almost like sitting in a movie theater with surround sound and 3D presentation (It would make an incredible Hollywood movie...). Overall excellent plot, I can hardly wait to start reading the sequel of this book. I recommend this book to the permanent library of any reader that enjoy a well written thriller novel. They will not be disappointed.

I received this book from the author for reviewing. I was not requested to provide a positive review. Opinion expressed here is my own.

If you read this review, feel free to leave a comment.

Thursday, August 23, 2018

Book "A Smidge of Crazy" by Barbara Venkataraman

About the Book: A collection of humorous insights into important topics ranging from being targeted by annoying ads ("Nowhere to Hide"), to resorting to symbols when you've forgotten your words ("At a Loss for Words"), to figuring out what door that extra key opens ("My Extra Key"). Other essays examine how sitting is the new smoking (whatever that means), and why it is just so hard to focus when you have the attention span of a gnat.

About the Author: Award-winning author Barbara Venkataraman is an attorney and mediator specializing in family law and debt collection.
She is the author of the Jamie Quinn Mystery series, as well as "Teatime with Mrs. Grammar Person"; "The Fight for Magicallus," a children's fantasy; a short story titled, "If You'd Just Listened to Me in the First Place"; and three books of humorous essays: "I'm Not Talking about You, Of Course", "A Trip to the Hardware Store & Other Calamities," and "A Smidge of Crazy", which comprise her "Quirky Essays for Quirky People" series. Two of her books of humorous essays won the "Indie Book of the Day" award. "Engaged in Danger" was chosen as Book of the Day by www.bookoftheday.org and won first place in the Amateur Detective category of the Chanticleer Murder & Mayhem Mystery Writing Competition.
Her popular Jamie Quinn Cozy Mystery Series includes: "Death by Didgeridoo," "The Case of the Killer Divorce," "Peril in the Park," "Engaged in Danger" and, just released--"Jeopardy in July", the fifth Jamie Quinn mystery!

My Review: This author is a brilliant and natural story teller. Her style is so nice and clever that makes reading a pleasure, and will really bright your day. This collection of small chronicles or essays is a description of everyday's life situation that turns out to be very funny when you talk about them (probably not that funny when the situation really happened...). The only downside of this book is that it finishes too soon! We have only 15 short essays... But every new one is better than the previous one. Family Ties is a great one!

I recommend it to the permanent library of any reader who loves a laugh and enjoys a very well written collection of short stories. These essays will give your spirit a lift and leave you smiling.

I received this book from the author and I was not requested to provide a positive review. Opinions expressed here are my own.

If you read this review, feel free to leave a comment!

Sunday, July 8, 2018

Book "Transmission" by Morgan Rice

About the Book: From #1 worldwide bestselling fantasy author Morgan Rice comes a long-anticipated science fiction series debut. When SETI finally receives a signal from an alien civilization, what will happen next?
A 13 year old boy, dying of a rare brain disease, is the only one able to hear and decode signals from outer space. SETI confirms it is a real signal.
What is the message? How will the world react?
And most of all: are the aliens coming?

About the Author: Morgan Rice is the #1 bestselling and USA Today bestselling author of the epic fantasy series THE SORCERER’S RING, comprising seventeen books; of the #1 bestselling series THE VAMPIRE JOURNALS, comprising twelve books; of the #1 bestselling series THE SURVIVAL TRILOGY, a post-apocalyptic thriller comprising three books; of the epic fantasy series KINGS AND SORCERERS, comprising six books; of the epic fantasy series OF CROWNS AND GLORY, comprising 8 books; of the new epic fantasy series A THRONE FOR SISTERS, comprising six books (and counting); and of the new science fiction series THE INVASION CHRONICLES. Morgan’s books are available in audio and print editions, and translations are available in over 25 languages.
TURNED (Book #1 in the Vampire Journals), ARENA 1 (Book #1 of the Survival Trilogy), A QUEST OF HEROES (Book #1 in the Sorcerer’s Ring), RISE OF THE DRAGONS (Kings and Sorcerers—Book #1), SLAVE, WARRIOR, QUEEN (Of Crowns and Glory—Book #1), and A THRONE FOR SISTERS (A Throne for Sisters—Book #1) are each available as a free download on Amazon!
Morgan loves to hear from you, so please feel free to visit www.morganricebooks.com to join the email list, receive a free book, receive free giveaways, download the free app, get the latest exclusive news, connect on Facebook and Twitter, and stay in touch!


My Review: Morgan Rice did it again! In her superb writing style, she always make us release our imagination to fantastic worlds, living the story with our heroes, enjoying the well built characters in very intelligent plots.
In another series that promises to be as entertaining as the previous ones, Morgan presents us with the tale of a young boy named Kevin, who suffers from a uncommon degenerative brain disease, known as  leukodystrophy. That disease allow him to be sensitive to radio messages coming from space, and he can translate the messages that for others seems just noise. After SETI confirms that the message is real, things go crazy and the plot develops in a nice pace with some twists that will keep the reader on the edge of their seats. This is not a typical alien invasion book. Put your seat belt on and enjoy the ride.

Sci-fi is my favorite genre and this is a very nice book, that I recommend to the permanent library of all readers that love a well written sci-fi/fantasy book. They will embark in a journey full of action, heartbreak and magic, loyalty and betrayal, and they will not be disappointed.

If you read this review, feel free to leave a comment.

Sunday, December 31, 2017

Balance of 2017

The unusual low amount of books read this year was mainly because my wife was diagnosed with breast cancer and between surgeries and treatment there was little time left for reading... Hopefully 2018 will be better than 2017.

During 2017, I reviewed the following:

January
Books:
- "Hatching the Phoenix Egg" by Joel Horn. Read my review.
- "The Final Offering" by J.G.Gatewood. Read my review.
- "The Northeast Quarter" by S.M.Harris. Read my review.
- "A Chance Beginning:  by Christopher Patterson. Read my review.

June
Books:
- Book "Dreams, Goals and Adventures" by Michael Ditton. Read my review.
- Book "Envied Prize" by Lolita London. Read my review.

July
Books:
- Book "No Place to Die" by Jaden Skye. Read my review.

August
- Book "Love Like This" by Sophie Love. Read my review.
- Book "Game of Thrones - Song of Ice and Fire, Book 1" by George R.R.Martin. Read my review.

September
- Book "A Throne for Sisters" by Morgan Rice. Read my review.

December
- Book "DNA" - by James Corkill. Read my review.

Monday, December 25, 2017

Book "DNA" by James M.Corkill

About the Book: DNA and social media postings will determine who will survive.
An exciting science fiction techno-thriller from six-time award-winning author, James M. Corkill.
Alex Cave, an Ex-CIA operative now a geophysics consultant for NASA at Area 51, meets an archaeologist named Mya Austin, who tells him about a prophecy found in an ancient cave drawing belonging to the Sioux Nation. He is intrigued, but declines Mya’s offer to visit the dig site because of a pressing family issue. A rift had formed between him and his nineteen-year-old nephew Derek, and it was like a dagger through his heart.
Geneticist Zane Simon’s amazing discovery will save the lives of a select number of people, but there is no hope for the other seven billion. The problem will be keeping it a secret or society will disintegrate into chaos. How does Alex save civilization from total collapse?

About the Author: "Hello. I would like to take you on exiting adventures here on our planet, with courageous people in dangerous situations, desperately trying to save humanity.
I'm a retired federal firefighter from Whidbey Island, Washington. Before that, I was an electronics technician and part time mechanical engineer at the Puget Sound Naval Shipyard. I was in the military, and served in Viet Nam. Being retired allows me to write full time and blend my knowledge with my imagination to create the adventures I would like to go on. When I was fourteen I moved to a small place called Orcas Island in Puget Sound; a community of around seven hundred people at that time. Fortunately for me, the famous horror writer, Hugh B. Cave, lived on one of the islands and became my mentor, though I don't write in that genre. The most important lesson he taught me was, only write what you know. Accurate details lend credibility and believability to the story. With that in mind, I do extensive research for my stories. Thanks for joining me on my adventures. It's not always easy finding good books to read. If you liked this one, please write a review on Amazon. Thanks! James M. Corkill. You can visit me at http://jamescorkill.com/.

My Review: After reading "Dead Energy" I was hocked by James Corkill's writing style. And he delivered again and again with "Cold Energy", "Red Energy", "Gravity", "Pandora's Box" and now with "DNA", the sixth book in the Alex Cave Series.
"DNA" is a masterpiece. If you thought that the story of our hero, an ex-CIA agent named Alex Cave, could not get better, you were completely wrong. The author keeps raising the bar, as if it was possible at all.
As usual, we can see that a lot of research was done by the author in order to create a very intelligent and believable plot. This time, an imminent catastrophic event is set to destroy life on earth. And Alex is just there, in the middle of all action, with his friend Okana and other new characters that run against time to unravel the mystery behind the appearance of a rock in the middle of an indian (Sioux Nation) reserved area. When plan to save humanity goes sour, it is up to Alex to find a plan B in order to prevent the disaster that would destroy more than seven billion lives.

You definitely should try James Corkill's books. His intelligent plots are here to stay. There are lots of brilliant sequences in action, some dose of romance and all the good ingredients that make this book a must read for all fiction lovers that want to spend some hours entertained.
Although they are completely independent books, I recommend that you read all of them in the order they were published, so you can know the characters better and savor each detail of all the books. I recommend this series to the permanent library of all science-fiction readers. They will not be disappointed.

This book was written by James M.Corkill and I received an electronic version for reviewing. I was not requested to provide a positive review. Opinions expressed here are my own. 

Saturday, September 30, 2017

Balance of September, 2017

During the month of September, 2017, I reviewed the following:

Books:
- "A Throne for Sisters" by Morgan Rice. Read my review.
- "A Clash of Kings - Song of Ice and Fire, Book 2" by George R.R.Martin. Read my review.

Sunday, September 10, 2017

Book "A Throne for Sisters" by Morgan Rice

About the Book: In A THRONE FOR SISTERS (Book one), Sophia, 17, and her younger sister Kate, 15, are desperate to leave their horrific orphanage. Orphans, unwanted and unloved, they nonetheless dream of coming of age elsewhere, of finding a better life, even if that means living on the streets of the brutal city of Ashton.
Sophia and Kate, also best friends, have each other’s backs—and yet they want different things from life. Sophia, a romantic, more elegant, dreams of entering court and finding a noble to fall in love with. Kate, a fighter, dreams of mastering the sword, of battling dragons, and becoming a warrior. They are both united, though, by their secret, paranormal power to read other’s minds, their only saving grace in a world that seems bent to destroy them.
As they each embark on a quest and adventure their own ways, they struggle to survive. Faced with choices neither can imagine, their choices may propel them to the highest power—or plunge them to the lowest depths.
A THRONE FOR SISTERS is the first book in a dazzling new fantasy series rife with love, heartbreak, tragedy, action, magic, sorcery, fate and heart-pounding suspense. A page turner, it is filled with characters that will make you fall in love, and a world you will never forget.

About the Author: Morgan Rice is the #1 bestselling and USA Today bestselling author of the epic fantasy series THE SORCERER’S RING, comprising seventeen books; of the #1 bestselling series THE VAMPIRE JOURNALS, comprising twelve books; of the #1 bestselling series THE SURVIVAL TRILOGY, a post-apocalyptic thriller comprising three books; of the epic fantasy series KINGS AND SORCERERS, comprising six books; of the epic fantasy series OF CROWNS AND GLORY, comprising 8 books; and of the new epic fantasy series A THRONE FOR SISTERS. Morgan’s books are available in audio and print editions, and translations are available in over 25 languages.
TURNED (Book #1 in the Vampire Journals), ARENA 1 (Book #1 of the Survival Trilogy), A QUEST OF HEROES (Book #1 in the Sorcerer’s Ring) and RISE OF THE DRAGONS (Kings and Sorcerers—Book #1) are each available as a free download on Amazon!
Morgan loves to hear from you, so please feel free to visit www.morganricebooks.com to join the email list, receive a free book, receive free giveaways, download the free app, get the latest exclusive news, connect on Facebook and Twitter, and stay in touch!

My Review: Morgan Rice's imagination is limitless. In another series that promises to be as entertaining as the previous ones, the author presents us with the tale of two sisters (Sophia and Kate), orphans, fighting to survive in a cruel and demanding world of an orphanage. After escaping into the streets of their city, each one takes a different path, although still connected by their unique capability of staying in touch with each other through their minds. That same power allow them to read other's thoughts. Sophia's path lead her to the court and to the arms of the brother to the heir of the throne. Kate is more interested in battles, swords and the son of the blacksmith. And their journey is full of events and surprises and in each turn of a page you will find yourself cheering for our heroines to succeed surpassing their obstacles.
The world and characters are well developed and the action is present all over, making this book an instant success. Life cannot get better!
I recommend this book to the permanent library of all readers that love a well written fantasy book. They will embark in a journey full of action, heartbreak and magic, and they will not be disappointed.
This is the first book of a trilogy and I can hardly wait to put my hands on the second and third book! 



Thursday, August 31, 2017

Balance of August, 2017

During the month of August, 2017, I reviewed the following:

Books:
- "Love Like This" by Sophie Love. Read my review.
- "Game of Thrones - Song of Ice and Fire, Book 1" by George R.R.Martin. Read my review.

Sunday, August 27, 2017

Book "Song of Ice and Fire - Game of Thrones" by George R.R.Martin

About the Book: Winter is coming. Such is the stern motto of House Stark, the northernmost of the fiefdoms that owe allegiance to King Robert Baratheon in far-off King’s Landing. There Eddard Stark of Winterfell rules in Robert’s name. There his family dwells in peace and comfort: his proud wife, Catelyn; his sons Robb, Brandon, and Rickon; his daughters Sansa and Arya; and his bastard son, Jon Snow. Far to the north, behind the towering Wall, lie savage Wildlings and worse—unnatural things relegated to myth during the centuries-long summer, but proving all too real and all too deadly in the turning of the season.
Yet a more immediate threat lurks to the south, where Jon Arryn, the Hand of the King, has died under mysterious circumstances. Now Robert is riding north to Winterfell, bringing his queen, the lovely but cold Cersei, his son, the cruel, vainglorious Prince Joffrey, and the queen’s brothers Jaime and Tyrion of the powerful and wealthy House Lannister—the first a swordsman without equal, the second a dwarf whose stunted stature belies a brilliant mind. All are heading for Winterfell and a fateful encounter that will change the course of kingdoms.
Meanwhile, across the Narrow Sea, Prince Viserys, heir of the fallen House Targaryen, which once ruled all of Westeros, schemes to reclaim the throne with an army of barbarian Dothraki—whose loyalty he will purchase in the only coin left to him: his beautiful yet innocent sister, Daenerys.

About the Author: George R.R. Martin sold his first story in 1971 and has been writing professionally since then. He spent ten years in Hollywood as a writer-producer, working on The Twilight Zone, Beauty and the Beast, and various feature films and television pilots that were never made. In the mid ‘90s he returned to prose, his first love, and began work on his epic fantasy series, A Song of Ice and Fire. He has been in the Seven Kingdoms ever since. Whenever he’s allowed to leave, he returns to Santa Fe, New Mexico, where he lives with the lovely Parris, and two cats named Augustus and Caligula, who think they run the place.

My Review: Many authors try to write fantasy books. George R.R.Martin succeeded. I could easily place this series at the same level of "The Lord of the Rings", by J.R.R.Tolkien or "Chronicles of Narnia:  by C.S.Lewis. The author creates a whole new world and an incredible set of characters. 
"A Game of Thrones" is the first book of this series called "Song of Ice and Fire". In this book we see the start and development of a series of stories that run in parallel, beginning with the Stark family. Eddard (Ned) Stark is the head of this family, Warden of the North in the kingdom of Westeros. His wife is Catelyn and he has 5 kids. The elder is Rob, followed by Sansa, Brandon, Arya and Rickon. He also has a "bastard", John Snow, that lives with them. His best friend is King Robert. They fought together in the battle that placed Robert as king, replacing the so called Mad King (house Targaryen). Robert's Hand died mysteriously and Robert travels all the way North to try to convince Ned to be his new Hand of the King, a position that is second only to the king. Accompanying him is his wife Cersei, from the house of Lanister, her brothers Jaime Lanister, a warrior (and her lover), and Tyrion Lanister, a dwarf. Also her three kids are in this trip, being Joffrey (the elder) the heir of the throne, a cruel boy. Another story running in parallel is the story of John Snow, Ned's bastard, that goes to defend the Wall when Ned travels South to help the king. The Wall is an ice obstacle constructed to protect the kingdom against the wildlings and the night walkers (army of the dead), in the far North of the realm. The third story is the story of Prince Viserys Targaryen and his sister Daenerys Targaryen, in exile at the other side of the ocean, after their father was deposed.  And the story begins, full of intrigues, deceives, betrayals, love, cruelty, battles and a lot of endless action, all the good ingredients that makes this an instance classic for the ages...   
If you are willing to spend hours turning pages and get involved in this incredible world, I highly recommend this book to your permanent library. A book cannot get better than this one.

If you read this review, fell free to leave a comment!


Saturday, August 12, 2017

Book "Love Like This" by Sophie Love

About the Book - LOVE LIKE THIS (The Romance Chronicles—Book #1) is the debut of a new romance series by #1 bestselling author Sophie Love.
Keira Swanson, 28, lands her dream job at Viatorum, a slick magazine in New York City, as an aspiring travel writer. But their culture is brutal, her boss is a monster, and she doesn’t know if she can last for long.
That changes when Keira, by a fluke, is handed a coveted assignment and given her big chance: to travel to Ireland for 30 days, witness the legendary Lisdoonvarna festival of love, and to debunk the myth that true love exists. Keira, cynical herself and in a rocky place with her long-term boyfriend, is all too happy to oblige.
But when Keira falls in love with Ireland and meets her Irish tour guide, who just may be the man of her dreams, she is no longer sure of anything.
A whirlwind romantic comedy that is as profound as it is funny, LOVE LIKE THIS is book #1 in the debut of a dazzling new romance series that will make you laugh, cry, and will keep you turning pages late into the night—and will make you fall in love with romance all over again.

About the Author - #1 bestselling author Sophie Love is author of the romantic comedy series, THE INN AT SUNSET HARBOR, which includes six books (and counting), and which begins with FOR NOW AND FOREVER (THE INN AT SUNSET HARBOR—BOOK 1) —a free download on Amazon!
Sophie Love is also the author of the debut romantic comedy series, THE ROMANCE CHRONICLES, which begins with LOVE LIKE THIS (THE ROMANCE CHRONICLES—BOOK 1).
Sophie would love to hear from you, so please visit www.sophieloveauthor.com to email her, to join the mailing list, to receive free ebooks, to hear the latest news, and to stay in touch!

My Review: This author is a natural storyteller. Working with a simple plot, Sophie creates a whole world of emotions and turmoils, describing superbly the mind of a young lady (Keira) and her struggles to balance her social life and her career.
Keira is a young lady living in New York City. She just started working at Viatorum, a magazine owned by Elliot, but managed by Joshua, her boss. When he is incapacitated by an accident, she landed a cover page story about the Love Festival in Ireland. In order to attend the 30-day Festival, she ended up braking her relationship with her boyfriend Zack, who is too possessive and do not see this assignment as a career opportunity. When he makes Keira chose between her career and him, she has no doubts and go to Ireland. When arriving there, she was skeptical about true love, but things start changing when she met her tour guide, Shane. The matchmaker, her visits to places in beautiful Ireland and her visit to her guide's family changes her view not only about Ireland, but also about true love.
This book is very well written and edited and I highly recommend it to the permanent library of all readers that appreciate a romance that can be savored during a weekend. You will not be disappointed.

If you read this review, feel free to leave a comment.