Tuesday, June 12, 2012

Book "Seven Hours Omnibus" by Mike Dellosso et al.

About the Book: Death comes for everyone. But what if you were given seven more hours? Would you go back and relive a previous time in your life? Or would you live those seven more hours, starting now? In this collection of seven full-length novellas, seven writers come together to tackle the questions of life, death, and time as we know it. Each author has taken the same concept, featuring a mysterious central character, and spun their own story. Stories include: All of Our Dreams by James Andrew Wilson, Whole Pieces by Ronie Kendig, Teardrop by Travis Thrasher, Escapement by Rene Gutteridge, Recollection by Tom Pawlik, Rear View by Mike Dellosso, and The Last Night of Alton Webber by Robin Parrish. 7 Stories. 7 Writers. 7 Hours.

About the Authors:
Mike Dellosso - Born in Baltimore, Maryland, Mike now lives in Hanover, Pennsylvania, with his wife, Jen, and their three daughters. In addition to his novels of supernatural suspense he writes a bi-weekly column for his local newspaper and is an adjunct professor of writing at Lancaster Bible College. He received his BA degree in sports exercise and medicine from Messiah College and his MBS degree in theology from Master's Graduate School of Divinity.

Rene Gutteridge is the author of seventeen novels, including Listen,  the Storm series (Tyndale House Publishers) and Never the Bride, the Boo series, and the Occupational Hazards series from WaterBrook Press. She also released My Life as a Doormat and The Ultimate Gift: The Novelization with Thomas Nelson. Rene is also known for her Christian comedy sketches. She studied screenwriting while earning a mass communications degree, graduating magna cum laude from Oklahoma City University and earning the Excellence in Mass Communication Award. She served as the full-time director of drama for First United Methodist Church for five years before leaving to stay home and write. She enjoys instructing at writers conferences and in college classrooms. She lives with her husband, Sean, a musician, and their children in Oklahoma City. Visit her Web site at www.renegutteridge.com.

Critically acclaimed and creatively diverse novelist Travis Thrasher has made a career out of defying expectations. Writing stories that have moved, haunted and provoked readers, Thrasher has told tales in a variety of genres. His one common theme is brokenness, and his one common tactic is surprise. He lives with his wife and three daughters in a suburb of Chicago. For more information on Travis, go to www.travisthrasher.com

Ronie Kendig has a BS in Psychology and is a wife, mother of four, and avid writer. Her novels include espionage thriller Dead Reckoning, a military series The Discarded Heroes series (Nightshade, Digitalis, Wolfsbane, and Firethorn), and a new upcoming series, A Breed Apart, that launches Summer 2012. In addition to speaking engagements, Ronie is a monthly columnist at the award-winning blog, Novel Rocket, and is active with the American Christian Fiction Writers. Ronie can be found online at www.roniekendig.com, on Facebook (facebook.com/rapidfirefiction) and on Twitter (@roniekendig).

James Andrew Wilson was inspired by the magic of good storytelling from a young age and started writing his first novel when he was sixteen. He married at seventeen, became a father at twenty-one, and lives now in the Pacific Northwest with his wife and their three boys. James enjoys hiking, Italian food, board games, and celebrating the joys of a simple life. When he grows up, he hopes to be a respectable hobbit and not have any more adventures, thank you very much.

Robin Parrish is the author of seven novels including, Relentless, Fearless, Merciless, Offworld, Nightmare, and Vigilante, and a YA novel, Corridor. As a journalist, Robin has worked for About.com, CMCentral.com, InfuzeMag.com, PopCultureGeek.com, B5Media, Splashpress Media, and many more. His writing has been printed in numerous magazines and newspapers. Robin and his wife and two children live in High Point, NC.

Tom Pawlik is the Christy Award-winning author of Vanish, which also won first place in the 2006 Christian Writers Guild Operation First Novel contest. The sequel, Valley of the Shadow, was a Christy Award finalist. Tom has a BA in communication and works in the marketing field. He has also been active in Christian teaching, youth work, and music for over 20 years. In addition to writing fiction, Tom is an accomplished songwriter and musician who writes and records at his home studio. He and his wife, Colette, live in Ohio with their five children.

My Review: This is a collection of seven novels versing on the same theme. Death arrives at your door in the form of a mysterious man named Thomas Constant and proposes you a deal: you can either just die now, or you can live another seven hours during any period of your life in order to try to make right some wrong things you did or you regret. All seven stories from these seven different authors are completely different, but they explore this idea in different perspectives. Clock is ticking. What will you do with the time you have left?
All are wonderfully written stories and this book is an excellent entertainment for hours. It took me around 21 hours to read the whole book. I highly recommend it to any reader who likes to think about life, death, and time.

This book was published by Tyndale House Publishers in July 2012 and they were kind enough to send me an electronic copy for reviewing through their blogger book review program.

If you are reading this review, feel free to leave a comment with your thoughts.

No comments:

Post a Comment