We are Rebuilding this Blog!

We are Rebuilding this Blog!

Tuesday, November 17, 2009

Book "The Voyage of the Dawn Treader" by C.S.Lewis


This is a fantasy novel for children written by C.S.Lewis. It was first published in 1952.
The history begins when Edmund and Lucy Pevensie were staying with their cousin Eustace Scrubb. Edmund, Lucy and Eustace are taken into Narnia world being pulled into a picture of a ship at sea. The three children land in water near the pictured vessel and are taken aboard. The ship is the Dawn Treader, and belongs to Caspian X, King of Narnia, who the Pevensie children helped gain the throne from his uncle Miraz.
Caspian is trying to find the seven lost Lords of Narnia. Reepicheep is also on the ship, and he is trying to find Aslan’s country beyond the seas.
Their first stop is in Lone Islands, where slave trade flourishes, despite Narnian laws stating that it is forbidden. Caspian, Lucy, Edmund, Eustace and Reepicheep are captured by a slave trader and a man buys Caspian before they reach the slave market. This man is the first Lord they were looking for, Lord Bern. He moved to the island and married a local woman after being banished from Narnia by Miraz. After Caspian revealing who he really was, Bern acknowledges Caspian as King and Caspian replaces Gumpas, the current governor, with Lord Bern. At their second stop in a different island, Eustace leaves the group in order to avoid to work, and hides himself in a dead dragon’s cave when it starts to rain. The cave is full of gold and jewels and Eustace gets greedy. He fills his pockets with the treasure. Waiting for the rain to stop he sleeps and he is transformed into a dragon. While he is a dragon, he figures out how bad his behavior was and uses his strength to make amends. Aslan turns Eustace back into a boy, now much nicer than before. Caspian recognizes one of the jewels Eustace had taken as a bracelet belonging to the second Lord, Lord Octesian. They think that the dragon killed Octesian, or Octesian was the dragon himself…
Next they stop at Burnt Island and then at Deathwater Island, where they find another missing Lord, Lord Restimar, transformed in a statue of gold at the bottom of a pool of water that turns everything immersed in it into gold. Next stop is at Duffers’ Island and then at the Dark Island, this island being permanently hidden in darkness, and where the dreams come true. At this island they rescue Lord Rhoop. Finally they reach the Island of the Star, where they find the last three Lords in enchanted sleep. A fallen star named Ramandu, who lives in the island, tells them that in order to break the spell they have to sail to the edge of the world and they have to leave one member of the crew behind. When sailing towards the edge of the world, they pass into an area where merpeople dwell and the waters are sweet. The waters become so shallow that the ship cannot continue and Caspian wants to leave the ship in a boat with Reepicheep. The crew does not allow that and Aslan instructs Caspian saying that only Lucy, Edmund, Eustace and Reepicheep should proceed in the boat. Fulfilling Ramandu’s tale, Reepicheep goes into a waterfall and disappear, probably reaching Aslan’s country. Edmund, Eustace and Lucy find a lamb, who transform into Aslan and tells them that Edmund and Lucy will not return to Narnia, and sends the children home, where everyone notice how Eustace has changed.

The main characters in this book are Edmund and Lucy Pevensie, Caspian X, Reepicheep and Eustace Scrubb.

This is absolutely a must-read book. It makes you want to read all the books from this series “Chronicles of Narnia”.

Pages: 256
My Rate: 5 Stars

This is the link to buy the book.

No comments:

Post a Comment