We are Rebuilding this Blog!

We are Rebuilding this Blog!
CHECK IT OUT

Saturday, July 13, 2013

Book "Child of the Ghosts" by Jonathan Moeller

About the Book: For fans of Marion Zimmer Bradley's "Sword & Sorceress", Tamora Pierce, Robin McKinley, and Jennifer Roberson, here is a new story of a woman's fight against an ancient evil.
When her life is torn apart by sorcery and murder, young Caina Amalas joins the mysterious Ghosts, the legendary spies and assassins of the Emperor of Nighmar. She learns the secrets of disguise and stealth, of assassination and infiltration.
But even that might not be enough to save her.
For the evil that destroyed her family seeks to devour the entire world...

About the Author: Standing over six feet tall, Jonathan Moeller has the piercing blue eyes of a Conan of Cimmeria, the bronze-colored hair a Visigothic warrior-king, and the stern visage of a captain of men, none of which are useful in his career as a computer repairman, alas.
He has written the DEMONSOULED series of sword-and-sorcery novels, the TOWER OF ENDLESS WORLDS urban fantasy series, THE GHOSTS series about assassin and spy Caina Amalas, the COMPUTER BEGINNER'S GUIDE sequence of computer books, and numerous other works.
Visit his website at: http://www.jonathanmoeller.com 
Visit his technology blog at:
 http://www.jonathanmoeller.com/screed

My Review: This is a very entertaining book, with a plot very well constructed and characters enjoyable. Our main character is a young lady named Caina. She lives in a world surrounded by sorcery and nobility. Her mother was denied a formal sorcerer training for lack of aptitude and she joins an alternate clan that plays with dangerous sorcery, the necromancers. She sells her daughter Caina to the most powerful of the necromancers' sorcerers, Maglarion. After a close call with death, Caina manages to escape from Maglarion and joins a legendary society called the Ghosts, that act as spies and assassins for the Emperor of Nighmar. The Ghosts were summon by her father before he died in the hands of Maglarion. Caina is trained on how to disguise and stealth, how to infiltrate and murder. She becomes a powerful weapon for the Ghosts in their fight against the sorcery. And the story develops in a very fast pace and all the plots and twist should be savored with delight. There is a sequel to this book named "Ghost in the Flames" that I placed in my "To Read" list and I intent to do that in the first opportunity I have, as I am really curious to see how the life of our heroine Caina will develop as a Ghost nighfighter.
I recommend this book to the permanent library of all readers that enjoy a very well written book with an young adult theme. I bought this book from Amazon.com and I was not requested to provide a positive review. Opinion expressed here is my own.

If you read this review, feel free to leave a comment!

No comments:

Post a Comment