We are Rebuilding this Blog!

We are Rebuilding this Blog!
CHECK IT OUT

Thursday, February 28, 2013

Balance of February


During the month of February, I reviewed the following:

Books:
- "Gameland - Deep Into the Game" by Saul W.Tanpepper. Read my review.
- "Golgotha" by Saul W.Tanpepper. Read my review.

Other Products:
- "Jot Pro Dampening Stylus Pen for iPad, iPhone, iPod, Kindle Fire and Other Touch Screen Tablets - Gun Metal" by Adonit. Read my review.
- "Moshi In-Ear Headphones for Kindle Fire HD, Pink" by Moonrock. Read my review.

Monday, February 25, 2013

Book "Golgotha" by Saul W.Tanpepper

About the Book: In this prequel to S.W. Tanpepper's GAMELAND series, a molecular geneticist creates an experimental antidote against a synthetic military virus developed to reanimate the dead. Hoping to avert a human disaster with global implications, he plans to test it on himself, but to do so he will first have to self-administer the zombie virus and allow the infection to run its full course. The process and the aftermath are captured in a series of voice recordings, leaving their audience little doubt about the experiment's spectacular--and horrific--outcome.

About the Author: eFiction magazine calls Saul an author armed with "a PhD and a whacked out sense of humor." Saul spent his formative years in a leaky century-old house overlooking the Erie Canal in Upstate New York. His bedroom was a refurbished attic, which he shared with all manner of creatures, not all, he is convinced, flesh and blood. After bouncing around the US and Europe for several years, he settled down to pursue a career in the sciences, opting to study the mysteries of human molecular genetics. But even positions as an experimental biologist, teacher, manager and biotech entrepreneur couldn't keep him from his true passion as a storyteller. He now writes speculative fiction full time from his home in the San Francisco Bay Area. Although his house is now attic-less and waterproof, he continues to be haunted by a variety of creatures, including a wife, kids, four dogs, three cats, six chickens, a wayward rooster, and one very grumpy possum. They are all flesh and blood. Except, maybe, for the possum, which he's convinced is the reincarnated spirit of Jack Torrance.

My Review: I read the first episode of GameLand Series (Deep Into the Game) before reading this prequel and now everything fit into place. A recording of an experience from a immunologist named Eugene is played by a Special Advisor to the President named Richard Daniels. In the recording we see how things can go really wrong and what happened next is quite interesting and gives explanation and origin to the GameLand Series. This is a short story that you can read in one sit. It took me around two hours to read the whole book. If I could advise, I would say to the reader to read this one before start reading the series. It is worth for all the explanation given about the origin of the virus that devastated earth. Very intense story, should be in the permanent library of all readers that love a very well written science-fiction where zombies play a major role.
This book was written by Saul W.Tanpepper and published by Brinestone Press in March 2012 and I received this book from the author. I was not requested to review or give my opinion on the book. It was really a gift, but anyway all opinions here are my own.

If you read my review, feel free to leave a comment!


Saturday, February 23, 2013

Product "Moshi In-Ear Headphones for Kindle Fire HD, Pink" by Moonrock

About the Product: More than just candies for your eyes, Moonrock elevates your overall music enjoyment with Moshi Audio's acoustically tuned driver units that effortlessly render crisp highs and balanced mids and bass. The in-ear design coupled with our proprietary hybrid-injection eartips, effectively block out external ambient noise while providing hours of comfortable listening. The high efficiency drivers (105 dB/mW) deliver ample presence with ease; offering full dynamic sounds even at lower listening volumes. It also comes with its own pocket-size carrying case with cable management to suit your carefree on-the-go lifestyle.

My Review: This is not just another fancy headphone. Besides its original design, it really reproduces sounds with a high fidelity. It comes with a smaller and a larger fit to accommodate it to any ear, besides the regular size. The case easily protects both headphones and wiring. Very convenient if you have to transport it. The microphone is really tiny and embedded into the wiring and if you do not know it is suppose to be there, you might miss it at all.

Amazon.com was kind enough to provide this product for me through their Vine Program for reviewing and I was not requested to provide a positive review. Opinions expressed here are my own.

If you read this review, fell free to leave a comment! 

Sunday, February 17, 2013

Book "Heavenly Signs" by Mel Gable

About the Book: "If you want to see and read something amazing, then open this book and be intrigued by God’s “Grand Design” for the End Times. From the very beginning of creation, God has set signs in the heavens for observation and understanding. Mel Gable has masterfully handled the movement of the constellations, planets and stars as well as their meaning and timing for End Times events. In so many areas, his research reveals agreement between science and the Bible. Make the discoveries for yourself. Travel with the author as he unravels some of the mysteries of the universe in a clear and concise style. You will be astounded by his findings." (Yolanda Shirley)

About the Author: Mel Gable is just a simple bond-servant of Christ, who has known his Lord and Savior for more than fifty years. Mel Gable is from corporate management of high-tech silicon IC design companies in Orange County California. His last position was as President, C.E.O, and Chairman of INDIGITA Corporation. Previously, he was with Q.L.O.G.I.C. Corporation, a N.A.S.D.A.Q.-listed public company, as President, C.E.O, and Member of the Board of Directors. He previously held engineering management positions at E.M.U.L.E.X., Western Digital, 3M and Ford Motor Company. He holds a B.S.E.E. degree from the University of Michigan where he graduated Magna Cum Laude. He has written over 20 journal and symposium articles and is the inventor on eleven U.S. patents.

My Review: This is a very interesting book that clearly shows a lot of study on the Scriptures and research on sky maps, looking for eclipses and all type of signs described on the Bible.

The author came up with his interpretation of the Scriptures and using a very interesting software ("Starry Night" by Simulation Curriculum Corp) which maps the sky on any date in the past or future, he found out some matches for his interpretation on the end of times, based on what is written on the Scriptures.
Most of his interpretations make sense, like associating Saturn as the ruler and father figure, Neptune as the god of water and sea (and his role at the Second Trumpet), Uranus as the god of sky and heavens (and his role at the Fourth Trumpet) and so on. He has an interpretation on most of planets, constellations and even comets.
Very entertaining reading, the book is full of beautiful illustrations and if not for some citation on apocrypha books, like the Book of Enoch (only accepted by the Ethiopian Orthodox Church and Eritrean Orthodox Tewahedo Church but no other Christian group) or the Book of Jubilee, it would be completely based on the accepted cannon of the majority of christian churches. But this does not diminishes his work. Most likely he would have reached the same conclusion even without those above mentioned pieces of work. Adding them just gives more "juice" to support his theory.

I recommend this book to the permanent library of any person that is interested in Eschatology, as well as on knowing different interpretations or point of views on what is coming at the end of the days and when it will happen.

This book was written by Mr. Mel Gable and published by WestBowPress in November of 2012.  The  author was kind enough to provide me a copy for reviewing. I was not requested to provide a positive review. Opinions expressed here are my own.

Tuesday, February 5, 2013

Product "Jot Pro Dampening Stylus Pen for iPad, iPhone, iPod, Kindle Fire and Other Touch Screen Tablets - Gun Metal" by Adonit

About the Product: Touch screens are great, but writing and drawing with your fingers should have stopped in kindergarten. Jot was created to capture the precision of a calligrapher and the stroke of an artist. Unlike the fat rubber tips of other styluses, Jot's ballpoint makes a finer line. The precision disc lets you see exactly where your mark will be made, giving you the most natural digital stroke. Not only should it meet your needs, but a stylus should have style. The brushed aluminium and steel rivals the craftsmanship of luxury pens. Jot plays nice with all capacitive touch screens, making it the best stylus for iPad and Android Tablets. The Jot Pro stylus is for those who take their passion seriously. It comes with a rubber grip for more command and comfort, and it magnetically attaches to your iPad for easy storage and transport. With sophisticated finishes such as Gunmetal or Silver, Pro is decoration for desk or easel.
  • Smaller Precision Disc: The precision disc acts like your finger, except it lets you see exactly where your mark will be made. Now, it's even smaller. Less disc, more ballpoint accuracy. The best stylus experience on touch screens just got better. 
  • Dampening Tip: The new sound dampening tip simulates the natural contact of writing with a pen on paper. This means your strokes will be quieter when note-taking or sketching. 
  • Ballpoint Accuracy: The ballpoint makes a finer line than fat rubber tips. It attaches to the Precision Disc, giving you up to a 45 degree writing angle. 
  • Magnetic Cling: Jot Pro magnetically attaches to your tablet for storage and transport. *iPad 2 and New iPad only. 
  • Ships in Certified Frustration-Free Packaging.
  • Heavy Metal: Once Jot Pro is in your grip, the quality is unmistakable. The durable aluminum and steel gives Jot superior conductivity and craftsmanship comparable to any luxury pen.

My Review: This is a very elegant pointer, useful when you fingers will not give you the precision you need to make a selection on a tiny form. I used it with my iPhone and it came handy in a bunch of different occasions,  proven to be a very useful tool. I liked the weight of the pointer, very appropriate for its size. The fact that the attached precision disk gives you a 45 degree writing angle is a big plus.
I recommend this product to every person that has a touchscreen and needs to make selections and do not want to waste time correcting improper selections made by either fat fingers or fat stylus pen.

Amazon.com was kind enough to provide this product for me through their Vine Program for reviewing and I was not requested to provide a positive review. Opinions expressed here are my own.

If you read this review, fell free to leave a comment! 

Saturday, February 2, 2013

Book "Gameland - Deep Into the Game" by Saul W.Tanpepper

About the Book: Zpocalypto gamer Jessica Daniels and her gang of code jackers decide to break into Long Island's Gameland hoping to catch a glimpse of the Infected Undead. In doing so they risk having additional years added to their Life Service Commitment (a civil or military obligation fulfilled after death). But getting past the barriers - the EM field, the wall surrounding the island, the mined waters - requires the assistance of an outsider to their tight-knit group. Tensions rise, particularly between Jessie and her boyfriend, as do the risks. After a terrifying "accident" during preparation nearly takes the life of one of their members, emotions run dangerously high. What they find when they finally arrive in the abandoned wasteland is like nothing they ever imagined. Excitement quickly turns to dread, and dread to terror, as the reality of their situation - and the dangers - become all too clear. Episode 1 is approximately 50,000 words.

About the Author: eFiction magazine calls Saul an author armed with "a PhD and a whacked out sense of humor." Saul spent his formative years in a leaky century-old house overlooking the Erie Canal in Upstate New York. His bedroom was a refurbished attic, which he shared with all manner of creatures, not all, he is convinced, flesh and blood. After bouncing around the US and Europe for several years, he settled down to pursue a career in the sciences, opting to study the mysteries of human molecular genetics. But even positions as an experimental biologist, teacher, manager and biotech entrepreneur couldn't keep him from his true passion as a storyteller. He now writes speculative fiction full time from his home in the San Francisco Bay Area. Although his house is now attic-less and waterproof, he continues to be haunted by a variety of creatures, including a wife, kids, four dogs, three cats, six chickens, a wayward rooster, and one very grumpy possum. They are all flesh and blood. Except, maybe, for the possum, which he's convinced is the reincarnated spirit of Jack Torrance.

My Review: This is a very well written book with a very intense story-line  But if you expect a book with a beginning, middle and end you will be disappointed, because the story will not end. This is suppose to be the first of an eight series book, so the end is just a hook to the next episode. Do not take me wrong, it is a very good hook nevertheless, that will make me buy the rest of the seven volumes! The plot is interesting and will keep you reading on the edge of your chair for most of the book. The characters are well developed and the scenario is so richly described that you feel you are inside the story. A group of game hackers decide to break into Long Island's Gameland, a place where nobody lives, because of an outbreak that happened twelve years before, that had all population that survived evacuated. Now the only entities that inhabit that wasteland are the zombies. Their adventure starts with a poorly planed trip idea and tension escalates during preparation for the trip and execution of the trip. They soon figure out that it is easier to enter than to leave the Island...

This book was written by Saul W.Tanpepper in April 2012 and it has been offered for free in both of major online eBook stores. I recommend this book to the permanent library of all thriller lovers, young adults or not.

If you read my review, feel free to leave a comment!